Creating an audiobook with ACX

13 Jul

1232929159Mvl99x

The audiobook version of my debut novel, FRY comes out later this year and I’m really excited!

If you are interested in making an audiobook of your self-published book, I recommend you give ACX (Audiobook Creation Exchange) a try. The process is quite straight forward. I posted a description of FRY, along with an excerpt and details of my review rankings on ACX and waited to see if any narrators would be interested in producing my audiobook. ACX offer you the option of paying the narrator a fee, so that you as the author can keep all the profits, or else you can go 50-50 with the narrator and share the profits. I found the second option more appealing as it means you don’t have to invest any money up front. It also means that you and the narrator have an equal interest in the project’s success, which can only be a good thing.

I’d love to say that the offers came flooding in straight away, but I didn’t get much interest for the first few days, until I received a message from ACX to tell me that they had awarded my book a stipend. This meant that on top of the 50-50 profit split, my narrator will be paid for each hour of finished recording time, up to £2,500 dollars. This is when the auditions and messages of interest really started coming in.

ACX only opened up to the UK in April of this year and this may explain why I had some difficulty in finding narrators who could do an authentic British accent, which my book requires. Despite this, I felt confident in choosing actress Crystal Marcano, as not only did she get the accent right, but she also understood the tone of the book and was both enthusiastic and active on social media.

More about ACX

ACX was created by Audible, an Amazon company. They distribute to the three leading retailers of audiobooks; Audible.comAmazon.com, and iTunes. If you choose to distribute exclusively to these three channels,  you earn 40% of the profits, whereas if you choose to distribute your audiobook non-exclusively, you earn 25% but retain the right to distribute your audiobook at your discretion.

Useful links

How to create audiobooks via ACX

Marketing ACX audiobooks

Are you interested in making an audiobook? I’d love to hear your thoughts.

3 Responses to “Creating an audiobook with ACX”

  1. MishaBurnett July 13, 2014 at 10:03 pm #

    My experience with ACX was very much like yours, and I strongly recommend it to self-published authors. Also since my books are on both Amazon Kindle and Audible Amazon has a program where people who own the Kindle version can get the audiobook at a steep discount (I think you can get both for less than the Audible version is by itself, actually).

    Since so many cars are now equipped with aux input jacks now, listening to an audiobook from Kindle in the car has become very easy, and I suspect that more people will get audiobooks just for that.

  2. rami ungar the writer July 13, 2014 at 10:37 pm #

    I might have to check that out. Sounds like it could be very helpful.

  3. M. Talmage Moorehead September 28, 2014 at 7:19 pm #

    Thank you this is important information. I never would have imagined the motivation of a well-connected young actress dictating a book I’d written and telling all her friends and connections to buy it. Wow, great idea! 🙂

Leave a Reply

