I gave away 40,000 copies of FRY last week!

12 Jan

 

Image

Picture credit: selfpublishingorg.com

Hi everyone,

Ever thought of trying out Bookbub? Well, last week I had my first promo with them, and gave away over 40,000 copies of FRY in the US alone! The promo was also picked up by some big sites who’ve featured FRY before; Digital Books Today and eReader News Today, but Bookbub definitely accounts for a large chunk of those downloads.

Prior to this promo, I had left Amazon KDP and experimented with making my book available on other sites such as Smashwords for a few months, but in the end the pull of Amazon proved too much, so I decided to go back to an exclusive agreement with them. I had to wait a couple of months for the other sites to take down my book, but after that I was ready to go. I applied for a Bookbub promo, not really expecting it to be granted, because I’ve heard from a lot of authors that Bookbub turn most books down. Then to my surprise, FRY got the nod, and from there it was plain sailing. I think the fact that I hadn’t done a promo since the end of May probably helped my download numbers too, especially as the book sites don’t like to feature books which are available for free too often. In the end, FRY reached number 16 on the Amazon.com free chart, and might possibly have gone higher, if the top of the charts weren’t dominated by one author, Beth Moore. Moore’s popular spiritual books were all available for free at once, and the cross promotional effect seemed powerful, making it difficult for any other author to reach higher than about number 14. An interesting strategy!

All the same, I can’t quibble about 40,000 downloads! If you were in any doubt about how effective Bookbub is, I think my experience shows that it does the job! I am certainly raking in the reviews as a result, and seeing an increase in sales too.

Have you done a Bookbub promo? I’d love to know how it went. 

12 Responses to “I gave away 40,000 copies of FRY last week!”

  1. rami ungar the writer January 12, 2014 at 9:45 pm #

    What exactly is Bookbub?

  2. Lorna Dounaeva January 14, 2014 at 8:58 pm #

    Rami: Bookbub is a site where you sign up to receive emails about freebies and bargain books. It’s massive and it works because they only notify you about a few books a day, and only in your chosen categories.

  3. Amy Prazeau January 29, 2014 at 6:41 am #

    Hi Lorna,

    I just sent you an email when I signed up for your updates. I forgot to tell you that I was one of those 40,000 people that got your book FRY for free. I LOVE bookbub.com.
    It is a great place to find amazing authors like you! I tell everyone I know about bookbub.com
    Thank you for your giving your book away like that. You now have a forever fan!
    Amy Prazeau
    Oregon

  4. Lorna's Voice February 12, 2014 at 11:29 am #

    Hi Lorna! I’m part of this WP Tagging meant to help promote authors working on new projects. I thought of you. All you have to do is answer 4 question and tag 3 other authors. Are you up for it? Contact me at my email (dizzylorna@hotmail.com).

    I’m having some pretty serious health problems–digestive mystery disease and may ave surgery as early as the Friday (2/14), so I’m not sure when I’ll do the tag post. I just want to line up the recipients. Let me know, okay?

  5. Lorna's Voice February 12, 2014 at 11:34 am #

    Can you use this promo site if you are with KDP Select? For my 2nd edition of my memoir and for my novel I’m going with Amazon’s Select program…

    • Lorna Dounaeva February 12, 2014 at 2:32 pm #

      Lorna – absolutely. In fact, I went back to select in order to do it. You don’t have to be in select of course, but I find it easier to go free that way.

      • Lorna's Voice February 15, 2014 at 9:50 pm #

        Good to know! Could you send me link via email (dizzylorna@hotmail.com?

  6. Chazz March 13, 2014 at 10:39 am #

    Reblogged this on C h a z z W r i t e s . c o m and commented:
    Despite some concerns about Bookbub recently, it was certainly effective for this author. Also note Beth Moore’s strategy farther down in the post. Instead of getting readers into the top of a sales funnel with free, she dominated the chart by giving away many books at once. Bold move.

  7. Chazz March 13, 2014 at 10:40 am #

    Your experience with Bookbub is certainly a good news story. Congratulations on all your success! Reblogged this, too, at ChazzWrites.com.

  8. Marble City Publishing March 16, 2014 at 11:06 am #

    We’ve used BookBub for a few of our titles recently (yes, it’s not easy to get accepted and behind those “few” is a pile of submissions). Our books are crime / mystery / suspense and not very mainstream (noir & historical sub-genres). We’ve had two “free” BookBub outings for one author and both produced big downloads, top 15 dot com free rankings, a rake of (polarised) reviews and enough post-free sales to pay off. We’ve had two “99c” BookBub outings (one each for two authors) and kept some sales going once returned to full price. Neither of the advertised titles are going to be blockbusters – they’re too niche – but the ads have spread interest across the other titles by each author. Apart from getting a title accepted, another problem with BookBub et al approach is the timescale. 30 day max forward planning makes it difficult to maintain a marketing strategy rather than short-term tactics.

Leave a Reply

