Self Publish Bible’s New Year’s Resolutions for 2014

2 Jan

Happy New Year!

Self Publish Bible is one year old today (ahh!)

P1020292

It’s a good job I’m not the superstitious type because the rain is lashing against the windows and the river is rising (again.) We spent much of Christmas in darkness, so I’m just hoping the power will hold out while I write this. I have always loved making New Year’s Resolutions. Not sure why really, except I really, really love to plan. After a good long think, I’ve boiled it down to the following, (besides keeping dry of course. That goes without saying.)

Read more

My Goodreads Reading Challenge for 2013 was a paltry 10 books. I met my target, but I’m sure I could read more. (And no, I’m not counting all those bedtime stories about farmyard animals that my daughter makes me read every night.) Before I had my children, I probably read a book a week, but as a full-time mum, I just don’t have much free time, especially as I need time to write. This year, I’ve set a goal of 15 books, with the intention that it will keep going up. I am including audiobooks in my total, as I hope this help me to access books I otherwise wouldn’t get to.

Write faster

In 2014, I hope to get quicker and more efficient at writing. I want to make a better use of my time by banning the internet, and perhaps even using a timer to keep me tied to my desk while I write. I am also hoping to find more time to write once my son starts school in September, and my daughter goes part-time at nursery. The real trick will be not to use too much of that time up on household tasks. It’s amazing how much time you can fritter away on a few chores.Β The good news is that I do seem to be getting quicker. I took years to write FRY. My second book, May Queen Killers is due to come out in May and should take 14 months total.I just hope that my speed will continue to improve with experience.

Write better

I intend to read at least one on book on writing/editing skills this year. If possible, I’d love to attend a writing workshop. It’s great fun to get together with other writers and you always pick up something new.

Don’t waste too much time on social media

This is not to say that I’m giving it up altogether, but now that I’ve been at it a little while, I’m starting to see what works for me. I like to blog, but not too often. Really only when I’ve got something to say, or an occasional book review or author interview. I update my Facebook author page whenever I blog, but probably not more than that. The same goes for LinkedIn and Google plus. My favourite place is definitely Twitter. In addition to meeting other authors, I have found readers through Twitter and more importantly, reviewers. At first, I was a bit retweet happy, but these days, I am careful not to bombard my followers with too many messages and I just pop on for a few minutes here and there. Of course, I am a bit more active when I’m running a promotion.

Have you made any resolutions for 2014?

I’d love to hear what they are! Until next time, stay dry, folks!

4 Responses to “Self Publish Bible’s New Year’s Resolutions for 2014”

  1. rami ungar the writer January 2, 2014 at 10:56 pm #

    Good luck in the New Year!

  2. Pete Denton January 6, 2014 at 3:26 pm #

    Congratulations on reaching your first-year milestone. Sounds like you have a good plan to juggle everything into reaching your goals. Good luck with 2014 πŸ™‚

  3. Lorna's Voice January 6, 2014 at 5:13 pm #

    I don’t make resolutions. I just take each days as it comes and goes.

    I would like to find out more about Twitter, but Blogging takes up so much time. I’m not a good marketer of my books and I need all the help I can get with promotions and reviews. Any tips?

  4. Lorna Dounaeva January 6, 2014 at 9:34 pm #

    Rami, Pete – Happy New Year! And thanks for keeping me company on the blogland for the last year πŸ™‚
    Lorna – I’m still new to this marketing lark myself, but I think getting lots of quality reviews helps to sell books, especially on Amazon. It certainly helps to sell the book when you’re running a promotion. (I am running one at the moment – will blog about that once it’s over.) It also makes your book more appealing to the sites that promote free books. I am still very much in favour of going free – at least for now. In my experience, it has been well worth it, as was temporarily dropping my price to 99 cents. Good luck in the new year, and thanks for reading πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

