Five star reviews, paperback problems and forging ahead

30 Sep

 

 

Image

Just a quick post to let you all know what I’m up to at the moment. I now have a very rough first draft of my second novel, May Queen Killers, but it will need a fair bit of rewriting before I am happy with it. It’s quite different from my last book in that I’m telling the story from more than one perspective. It’s still very psychological, but there’s more of a detective element this time. Like FRY, it will be fast-paced and full of twists and turns. I like to keep my readers guessing!

Later this month, I also have a short story called Vampire Driving School coming out in a charity anthology called ‘In Vein‘.  The anthology is in aid of St Jude’s Children’s Research Hospital and features the work of 18 different authors, so it should be a good read.

And finally, FRY got a fantastic five star review from IndieReader.com  a few weeks ago. They even made it their book of the week. As it was featured on their site, I also got a sticker to go on the book cover, which is great as we’ve just been finalising the paperback version. Getting the paperback out has taken longer than anticipated, so I’m really glad I launched the eBook first. When the paperback proof came back, there were a few minor problems such as the page numbers being larger on one side of the page than the other. It took a bit of fiddling to get the cover right as well, but it now has the IndieReader sticker and review on it, as well as an author picture and a few other features which were not available on the eBook version.

Indie Authors – do you release your eBook and paperback versions at the same time, or do you prefer to put out the eBook first? 

 

 

5 Responses to “Five star reviews, paperback problems and forging ahead”

  1. rami ungar the writer September 30, 2013 at 4:32 pm #

    Congratulations on the review. I usually release them at the same time, mostly to maximize sales. I think it’s gone well for me so far.
    By the wazy, what’s IndieReader.com like? I’ve never heard of it.

    • Lorna Dounaeva October 10, 2013 at 8:18 pm #

      Check out their site. It’s hard to get a review, but if you can get them to review your book it’s well worth it and helps lend it some credibility.

  2. Lorna's Voice October 7, 2013 at 1:06 pm #

    I’m so happy for you, Lorna! All the best with all of your projects! If you need any promotional help, I can always do another interview on my blog when the new book comes out… 🙂

    • Lorna Dounaeva October 10, 2013 at 8:19 pm #

      Thanks Lorna. I really enjoyed being interviewed on your blog, though it messed with my mind a little 🙂

Leave a Reply

