Interview with Demons in the Big Easy Author, Jamie Marchant

3 Jun

Image

This week I interviewed urban fantasy Author, Jamie Marchant.

Tell me a bit about yourself

 From early childhood, I’ve been immersed in books. My mother, an avid reader herself, read to us, and my older sister filled my head with fairy tales. When I was about six, I started writing stories about the Man from Mars for my older sister. I devoured every book I could get my hands on, and I wrote my first fantasy novel while in high school—not that it was publishable. Taking into consideration my love for literature and the challenges of supporting myself as a writer, I pursued a Ph.D. in American literature, which I received in 1998. I started teaching writing and literature at Auburn University and discovered the excitement of teaching. But in doing so, I put my true passion on the backburner and neglected my muse. Instead, for a few years, I wrote literary criticism. Then one day, in the midst of writing a critical piece, I realized I had no interest in doing so. What I wanted to do was write novels. My muse thus revived, I began the book that was to become The Goddess’s Choice.  I have an entire series planned.

I live in Auburn, Alabama, with my husband and son. I still teach writing and literature at Auburn University.

 What’s your latest book about?

Demons in the Big Easy is an urban fantasy novella. Adventurous in her youth, Cassandra built gateways between Domhan and its parallel realm of Earth. Now she’s too old for that kind of thing. But something is making it easier for demons to pass into Domhan. Not only that, but their behavior becomes inexplicable: whenever Cassandra banishes one, it laughs at her rather than resists, and it promises it will soon devour her essence and that of every resident of her small village. Cassandra is certain such a thing is impossible, for strong wards protect her village.

But then Cassandra’s granddaughter Aine falls through an unstable gateway. Cassandra is the only one within a hundred miles capable of creating a gateway and bringing Aine back. Despite her aching joints, Cassandra goes after her, and the gateway lands her in New Orleans. But something goes wrong with her tracking spell, which indicates Aine exists in four different places at once. As Cassandra struggles to find the true location of her granddaughter in the Big Easy, she discovers the source of the demons’ confidence.  Now, with an unlikely pair of allies—her timid granddaughter and a homeless man who may or may not be crazy—she has to not only save her granddaughter but also prevent both Domhan and Earth from being overrun by demons.

demonscoverimage (1)

 How long did it take you to write?

About 4 months. Fast, considering the years it took me to finish my first novel, The Goddess’s Choice.

 Why did you choose to self publish?

 A small publisher published my first novel, but I found that they did nearly nothing to market it. If I wanted it to sell, I had to do all the marketing myself. I decided that if I was going to have to do all the work, I should garner a larger share of the profits, so I self-published Demons in the Big Easy.

 Would you be interested in a publishing deal if it were offered?

It would depend on the size of the publisher and what they were going to commit to in terms of marketing.

 Who created your cover? 

I did it myself. I hope it doesn’t look like it.

Did you hire an editor? If not, how did you go about editing your book?

I didn’t hire an editor. I belong to a writers’ critique group, and they helped me edit it.

What are you doing to market your book?

I’ve been doing a lot of blog appearances. I have also participated in some giveaways.

What’s next for you?

I have all but the final edits done for The Soul Stone, a sequel to The Goddess’s Choice, in which Samantha struggles to solidify her rule, and Robrek must confront a bigger threat to the safety of the joined kingdoms.

I’m also working on an urban fantasy novel, The Bull Riding Witch, which has a princess from a parallel realm switching bodies with a rodeo bull rider.

Thank you for agreeing to be interviewed on Selfpublishbible, Jamie!

You can catch up with Jamie on facebook ,Goodreads and Twitter or follow her blog 

 

One Response to “Interview with Demons in the Big Easy Author, Jamie Marchant”

  1. Deanie Humphrys-Dunne June 4, 2013 at 12:54 am #

    Good job on the interview and best wishes with your book.

Leave a Reply

