The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

21 Feb

A big thanks to Pete Denton for nominating me to take part in the Next Big Thing Blog Hop. The timing is great, as my debut novel, FRY, goes on Amazon on March 12th.

Just a quick word about the Next Big Thing Blog Hop. It started on She Writes and has spread all over the blogosphere. It’s a great opportunity to talk about your latest WIP.

Here’s how it works:

If I tag you, use this format for your post
. Include an introduction to your interview post and a link to the person who tagged you for participation.
 Answer the ten questions about your current WIP (Work In Progress). Include some pictures if possible.

Tag five other writers/bloggers by sending them an email or commenting on their blogs and then add their links to the end of your interview post. The original posts stated their answers should go up the week after. I’m relaxed about how long you take to post. No pressure 🙂

The blog post should be labelled:
 The Next Big Thing Blog Hop.

Easy enough post and good fun. Time for the questions!

****

1. What is the working title of your book?

FRY

Image

****

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

Good question! Bits of it just flashed through my mind. Usually at completely inconvenient moments such as when I was blowing up a balloon or scaling a fish.

****

3. What genre does your book fall under?

Crime. Well, to be more specific, it’s psychological suspense, with a touch of romance.

****

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

My main character, Isabel would be played by Nicole Kidman. The villainess would be Christina Ricci and the hero, Deacon would be played by George Clooney. Except they’d all have to master the English accent and probably drop a few years in age.

Image

****

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Isabel Anderson’s new best friend, Alicia McBride is really a deadly, fire-starting, boyfriend stealing enemy, only no one believes her and everyone thinks she’s going crazy, including the police.

****

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Self-published. I haven’t even attempted to take the traditional publishing route. I want to get my book out to readers. I have nothing against traditional publishers, but I can’t bear the thought of my novel sitting on a pile somewhere, gathering dust when it could be in the hands of readers who might enjoy it.

****

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Ha ha! Good question. In theory, I started it about 13 years ago, then had a more serious attempt about 8 years ago. I then started again about 5 years ago, when I took a distance learning course at the London School of Journalism. I just wish I’d done that sooner. Having a tutor really focused my attention and the feedback really motivated me. FRY would have been finished sooner but I had a couple of babies in the middle of writing it.

****

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

FRY is a British Crime novel, but it’s not a police procedural as such. I would say it’s more in the tradition of Sophie Hannah and Julia Crouch.

****

9. Who or What inspired you to write this book?

I take inspiration from everywhere, from snatches of conversation, to the sound of feet on a marble floor or dropping a tin of baked beans on my toe. I’ve been inspired by every book I’ve ever enjoyed, regardless of genre. I also take a lot of inspiration from films such as Donnie Darko, The Exorcist and anything by David Lynch.

****

10. What else about your book might piqué the reader’s interest?

It’s really fast-paced, with an intriguing mystery that will keep you guessing till the end. None of my beta readers were able to predict what would happen!

****

Here are the writers I’m tagging. Check out their blogs, and look for their posts coming to a computer screen or smart phone near you soon!

1. Lornasvoice.com (All Lornas know each other – fact!)

2. Rami Unger

3. Marquita Herald 

4. Damon Marbut

5. Thomas Rydder

****

It’s been great fun taking part in the Next Big Thing Blog Hop. Thank you for reading!

2 Responses to “The Next Big Thing Blog Hop”

  1. Pete Denton February 23, 2013 at 9:45 pm #

    Excellent. I’m glad you accepted the blog hop challenge. Fry sounds good. I hope everything goes well with the launch.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Next Big Thing Blog Hop « Rami Ungar The Writer - February 21, 2013

    […] was tagged by Lorna Dounaeva (https://lornadounaeva.wordpress.com/2013/02/21/the-next-big-thing-blog-hop/) for this post, which is similar to the award memes that make the rounds of the Internet. The Next […]

Leave a Reply

