New Year, New Blog!

2 Jan

Greetings, readers and welcome to my new blogtopia. I will be publishing my first novel, a psychological thriller called FRY on Amazon in March and this blog will plot my trials and tribulations as a self-published writer.

As this is my first post, perhaps I should tell you all a little bit about myself. I am a politics, social psychology and European Studies graduate. I have worked mainly in the British civil service, primarily at the Home Office. I have two small children who keep me highly amused and I suppose I am a little bit quirky. I have an unlikely fondness for My Little Ponies (yup, that’s the children’s toy) and used to help organise conventions. I love the Eurovision song contest – I haven’t missed it in 15 years and nor has my poor husband. We even went to see it live for the 50th anniversary in Kiev. I once met the Dalai Lama on a plane (he smiled kindly at my son) and I am very, very fond of coffee and chocolate.

I was named after the novel, Lorna Doone, so really, I had no choice but to become a writer. It’s what I’ve always wanted to do. I just hope I’m not jinxing myself by launching my first book in 2013!

6 Responses to “New Year, New Blog!”

  1. rami ungar the writer January 6, 2013 at 3:22 pm #

    I’ve got a friend who likes My Little Pony as well. He’s a brony, as they’re called. I think you two would get along well.

  2. Diana Douglas January 6, 2013 at 8:10 pm #

    I’m looking forward to hearing about your experiences. We’ll have to compare notes along the way.

  3. Lorna Dounaeva January 8, 2013 at 1:39 pm #

    Rami- yes, there are a surprising number of collectors around. I’m hoping my daughter will enjoy my collection when she’s a bit older. If not, there’s always my son!

    Diana – thanks for dropping in. It’s always great to meet other authors and share experiences.

  4. Pete Denton January 15, 2013 at 7:55 pm #

    Welcome to the blogasphere. Good luck with the book. 🙂

    • Lorna Dounaeva January 16, 2013 at 2:18 pm #

      Hi Pete, thanks for dropping in!

      • Pete Denton January 17, 2013 at 8:52 pm #

        No problem. Always happy to support fellow writers 🙂

Leave a Reply

